HAVEN — No. 16-ranked Eastern Oregon shocked the Cascade Collegiate Conference by winning the 2022 CCC Men’s Wrestling Championship, Presented by US Bank — its first CCC title since the program was reinstated ahead of the 2017-18 season. (Results)

The Mounties took the win with 130.5 points, followed by ninth-ranked Menlo College with 123 points. Montana State University-Northern, ranked No. 8, took third place with 117 points, Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, ranked No. 19, took fourth place with 105.5 points and Vanguard University rounded out the top five with 98.0 team points. Providence University (95.5), Corban University (57.5), Southern Oregon University (57.0), Simpson University (41.0), Life Pacific University (24, 0) and Arizona Christian University (20.5) took spots six through 11. Warner Pacific University received no team points.

Menlo and MSUN were tied with two individual champions, while ERAU, SOU, Corban, Vanguard, EOU and UP each saw a champion crowned.

Coach of the Year – Dustyn Azure – Eastern Oregon
Wrestler of the Tournament – Isaac Bartel – MSUN
Team Sportsmanship – Vanguard University

At 125 pounds, two teammates of Menlo faced off for the title as Gregory Viloria beat Riley Siason 5-3 to win the championship.

At 133 pounds, Jacob Seto (ERAU) won the title match against Jacob Mendoza (Menlo) 7-2 in three overtimes. Seto posted a near four-point drop in the final overtime period to claim the victory.

In the 141-pound class, Martin Wilkie (MSU-Northern) claimed a major 12-1 decision over Chad Muenzer (EOU) to win the championship.

Elijah Palacio (Menlo) took title honors in the 149-pound class with an 8-5 win over Michael Murphy (Corban).

At 157 pounds, Southern Oregon’s Aaron Gandara defeated Arizona Christian’s Carlo Castagnaro 8-1 to win the championship.

In the 165-pound title match, David Rubio (Corban) picked up a narrow 3-2 win over Frederick Padilla (Vanguard) 3-2.

Armon Fayyazi (Vanguard) won the 174-pound title over Nakoda Siegel (MSU-Northern) with one out in overtime, 3-1.

Eastern Oregon’s Kyle Knudtson won the 184-pound title with a 5-2 decision over Hayden Schrull (Providence).

At 197 pounds, MSU-Northern’s Issac Bartel pinned Eastern Oregon’s Jay Smith to defend his 2020 championship and remains the wrestler to beat heading into nationals.

KC Buday (Providence) defeated Noel Orozco (Eastern Oregon) 2-1 in the heavyweight championship.

CCC Champions
125 – Gregory Viloria (Menlo)
133 – Jacob Seto (Embry Riddle)
141 – Martin Wilkie (MSU-North)
149 – Elijah Palacio (Menlo)
157 – Aaron Gandara (Southern Oregon)
165 – David Rubio (Corban)
174 – Armon Fayyazi (Vanguard)
184 – Kyle Knudtson (Eastern Oregon)
197 – Issac Bartel (MSU-North)
285 – KC Buday (Providence)

The CCC received a total of 34 automatic qualifiers for the NAIA National Championships in all weight classes, based on the number of conference representatives ranked in each weight class in the most recent individual top-20 poll.

CCC Automatic Qualifications
125 – Gregory Viloria (Menlo), Riley Siason (Menlo), Francisco Barrera (SOU)
133 – Jacob Seto (ERAU), Jacob Mendoza (Menlo), Nick Kunz (MSUN), Justin Coon (SOU), Joel Avila (UP), Zach Mauras (EOU)
141 – Elija Martin Wilkie (MSUN), Jaxon Morlan (EOU)
149 – Elijah Palacio (Menlo), Michael Murphy (Corban), Nicholas Camacho (Menlo)
157 – Aaron Gandara (SOU), Carlo Castagnaro (ACU), James Williams (ERAU), Abraham Del Toro (Menlo)
165 – David Rubio (Corban), Frederick Padilla (VU), Keller Rock (ERAU), Jordan Komack (UP), Chase Short (MSUN), Rysan Leong (Menlo)
174 – Armon Fayyazi (VU), Nakoda Siegel (MSUN), Keegan Mulhill (EOU), Gerardo Hernandez (VU)
184 – Kyle Knudtson (EOU), Hayden Schrull (UP), Baron Gaunt (VU)
197 – Isaac Bartel (MSUN)
285 – KC Buday (UP), Noel Orozco (EOU)

CCC Wildcards
133 – Evan Potter (SOU)
141 – Jayce Cunha (ERAU)
174 – Gerardo Hernandez (VU)
184 – Carl Hansen (MSUN), Alan Badley (UP), Tyson Stover (Corban)
197 – Jay Smith (ERAU)

Qualifiers from this weekend’s event earned the right to compete in the 65and Annual NAIA National Wrestling Championships in Park City, Kan. The tournament will take place at Hartman Arena on March 6-7.

— Cascade Conference

Source link