Lake Superior State University in Michigan will become the 39th school in the United States to offer women’s triathlon at the varsity level. The NCAA Division II team will begin competing in Fall/Fall 2023.

The 39th School’s commitment is a key step in triathlon’s journey to becoming an NCAA championship sport, as USA Triathlon is now one school away from its goal of securing 40 college programs by 2024.

Considered an NCAA Emerging Women’s Sport in 2014, triathlon has a 10-year window to demonstrate sustainability at the NCAA college level.

“Lake Superior State University is a great addition to the women’s collegiate triathlon family,” said USA Triathlon CEO Rocky Harris.

“Seven schools have added women’s triathlon since March 2020, which is a testament to the sport’s continued upward trajectory, particularly among young athletes, as well as the hard work of our staff and members of the multisport community. We are getting closer and closer to our goal of making triathlon an NCAA championship sport. »

Lake Superior State University is the second school in Michigan to offer the women’s varsity triathlon, joining Calvin College in Grand Rapids, Michigan. The Lakers compete in the Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference.

The addition of women’s triathlon as the 13th Lake Superior State varsity sport is made possible by a grant from the USA Triathlon Foundation. The USA Triathlon Foundation Women’s Emerging Sports Grant is distributed to select NCAA member institutions to develop, implement, and maintain women’s triathlon programs at the college level.

“LSSU Athletics couldn’t be more excited about introducing women’s triathlon as an intercollegiate sport beginning in the fall of 2023,” said Lake Athletic Director Dr. Dave Diles. Superior State University.

“Through extensive review, we have concluded that triathlon is an exceptionally good fit for our department, our institution and our community. USA Triathlon has been a great partner throughout this process, and we will continue to work with them to ensure that we establish a great foundation for this sport.

The varsity season includes two national qualifiers followed by the National Women’s Collegiate Triathlon Championships held in November. The races allowed in the repechage are sprint distances, including a 750m open water swim, a 20km bike allowed and a 5km run.

Women’s University College Triathlon Programs (as of February 14, 2022)

NCAA Division I (9)
Arizona State University (Tempe, Arizona)
Delaware State University (Dover, Delaware)
East Tennessee State University (Johnson City, Tennessee)
Hampton University (Hampton, Virginia)
Texas Christian University (Fort Worth, Texas)
University of Denver (Denver, Colorado)
University of San Francisco (San Francisco. California)
University of South Dakota (Vermillion, SD)
Wagner College (Staten Island, NY)

NCAA Division II (16)
American International College (Springfield, Mass.)
Belmont Abbey College (Belmont, North Carolina)
Black Hills State University (Spearfish, SD)
Colorado Mesa University (Grand Junction, Colorado)
Daemen College (Amherst, NY)
Davis & Elkins College (Elkins, West Virginia)
Drury University (Springfield, Missouri)
Emmanuel College (Franklin Springs, Georgia)
King’s University (Bristol, Tennessee)
Lake Superior State University (Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan)
Lenoir-Rhyne University (Hickory, North Carolina)
Montana State University Billings (Billings, Montana)
Newberry College (Newberry, SC)
Queens University of Charlotte (Charlotte, North Carolina)
St. Thomas Aquinas College (Sparkill, NY)
Wingate University (Wingate, North Carolina)

NCAA Division III (14)
Alvernia University (Reading, Pennsylvania)
Calvin College (Grand Rapids, Michigan)
Central College (Pella, Iowa)
Coe College (Cedar Rapids, Iowa)
Concordia University Wisconsin (Mequon, Wis.)
Eastern Mennonite University (Harrisonburg, Virginia)
Greensboro College (Greensboro, North Carolina)
Guilford College (Greensboro, North Carolina)
Millikin University (Decatur, Illinois)
North Central College (Naperville, Ill.)
University of Northern Vermont-Johnson (Johnson, Vermont)
Transylvania University (Lexington, Ky.)
Trine University (Angola, Ind.)
Willamette University (Salem, Oregon)

Source link